January 10–31, 2018
Gallery Hours: daily 10 a.m.-8:30 p.m.
Hurley Gallery, Lewis Arts complex
FREE and open to the public

Opening reception
Wednesday, January 17 at 4:30 p.m.

A showing of work created by students in the fall visual arts course “Extraordinary Processes,” taught by Joe Scanlan, in which students explored processes to transform the ordinary into the extraordinary — specifically, the strategic challenge of turning waste material, ash wood, into a viable consumer product. Working in teams, students conceived, designed, prototyped, redesigned, branded and packaged hanging light fixtures and other works for aesthetic enjoyment and domestic consumption. The objects are made entirely from ash wood available due to the devastation by Agrilus planipennis, an invasive beetle that has destroyed over 20 million+ ash trees in the United States.

The objects are on display in the Hurley Gallery at the Lewis Arts complex from January 10 through 31, open daily from 10 a.m. to 8:30 p.m. An opening reception will be held Wednesday, January 17 at 4:30 p.m. in the gallery. The exhibition is free and open to the public.

 

Map / Directions
+ Google Map

DIRECTIONS

The Hurley Gallery is located on the first floor of the Arts Tower at the Lewis Arts complex. The entrance is off the staircase one level up from the Forum or one level down from the Plaza entrance of the Arts Tower.

View directions and campus maps, information on parking and public transit, and other venue information on our Venues & Directions page »

Learn about access information on our Accessibility page »

Event Information

Hurley Gallery

Event Times

  • Wed, Jan 10, 2018 · 10:00 am - 8:30 pm Cal
  • Thu, Jan 11, 2018 · 10:00 am - 8:30 pm Cal
  • Fri, Jan 12, 2018 · 10:00 am - 8:30 pm Cal
  • Sat, Jan 13, 2018 · 10:00 am - 8:30 pm Cal
  • Sun, Jan 14, 2018 · 10:00 am - 8:30 pm Cal
  • Mon, Jan 15, 2018 · 10:00 am - 8:30 pm Cal
  • Tue, Jan 16, 2018 · 10:00 am - 8:30 pm Cal
  • Wed, Jan 17, 2018 · 10:00 am - 8:30 pm Cal
  • Thu, Jan 18, 2018 · 10:00 am - 8:30 pm Cal
  • Fri, Jan 19, 2018 · 10:00 am - 8:30 pm Cal
  • Sat, Jan 20, 2018 · 10:00 am - 8:30 pm Cal
  • Sun, Jan 21, 2018 · 10:00 am - 8:30 pm Cal
  • Mon, Jan 22, 2018 · 10:00 am - 8:30 pm Cal
  • Tue, Jan 23, 2018 · 10:00 am - 8:30 pm Cal
  • Wed, Jan 24, 2018 · 10:00 am - 8:30 pm Cal
  • Thu, Jan 25, 2018 · 10:00 am - 8:30 pm Cal
  • Fri, Jan 26, 2018 · 10:00 am - 8:30 pm Cal
  • Sat, Jan 27, 2018 · 10:00 am - 8:30 pm Cal
  • Sun, Jan 28, 2018 · 10:00 am - 8:30 pm Cal
  • Mon, Jan 29, 2018 · 10:00 am - 8:30 pm Cal
  • Tue, Jan 30, 2018 · 10:00 am - 8:30 pm Cal
  • Wed, Jan 31, 2018 · 10:00 am - 8:30 pm Cal

Presented By

Load More...