faculty awards

Thumbnail for Queen Elizabeth’s Gold Medal for Poetry awarded to Creative Writing Professor Paul Muldoon

Britain’s Queen Elizabeth has approved the award of Her Majesty’s Gold Medal for Poetry for the year 2017 to creative writing professor and poet Paul Muldoon. He becomes only the second Irish poet to be so honored in the award’s 83-year history, after Michael Longley in 2001. The Poetry Medal Committee recommended Muldoon as this year’s recipient of The Queen’s Gold Medal for Poetry, on the basis of the body of his work.

Thumbnail for Visual Arts faculty member Eve Aschheim joins National Academy Class of 2017

On Thursday, November 16, Lecturer in Visual Arts Eve Aschheim was inducted into the National Academy Class of 2017 as a National Academician, one of the highest honors in American art and architecture. She joins 19 other professional artists and architects — all elected by their peers — who represent some of the most distinguished practitioners in their respective fields.

Thumbnail for Jhumpa Lahiri Receives 2017 PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in the Short Story

The PEN/Faulkner Foundation announced that Professor of Creative Writing Jhumpa Lahiri is the recipient the 2017 PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in the Short Story. The award was established by the family of Pulitzer Prize-winning writer Bernard Malamud to honor excellence in the art of short fiction. A panel of PEN/Faulkner directors forms the selection committee for the awards.

Thumbnail for Jane Cox, Director of Theater Program at Princeton, nominated for second Tony Award

Jane Cox, Director of the Lewis Center for the Arts’ Program in Theater at Princeton University has been nominated for a Tony Award for her lighting design of the Broadway production of August Wilson’s play Jitney. In addition to her work as a professional lighting designer, Cox has served as a lecturer in the Program in Theater since 2007 and was appointed as Director in July 2016. She was also recently nominated for a Lucille Lortel Award for her lighting design of New York Theatre Workshop’s production of Othello starring Daniel Craig and David Oyelowo.

Five current Princeton University Lewis Center for the Arts’ faculty members have received 2017 John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowships. The awardees are fiction writer Phil Klay, a 2015–16 Princeton Hodder Fellow and current Lecturer in Creative Writing; theater artist Aaron Landsman, a 2014-16 Princeton Arts Fellow, current Visiting Associate Professor, and recent Belknap Visiting Fellow in the Humanities Council; fiction writer Fiona Maazel, Lecturer in Creative Writing; poet Claudia Rankine, Princeton’s 2017 Holmes National Poetry Prize awardee and Visiting Professor of Creative Writing; and theater scholar Stacy Wolf, Professor of Theater, Director of the Program in Music Theater, and Director of Princeton Arts Fellowships.

Thumbnail for Photography by Deana Lawson included in 2017 Whitney Biennial

The Whitney Musuem of American Art announced the list of participants in its 2017 Biennial, and Assistant Professor of Visual Arts Deana Lawson is included among the sixty-three participants who range from emerging to well-established artists working in painting, sculpture, drawing, installation, film and video, photography, activism, performance, music, and video game design.

Five current faculty members in the Lewis Center for the Arts’ Program in Theater have recently been nominated for or received major awards. Jane Cox received the Ruth Morley Design Award from the League of Professional Theatre Women and was nominated for a Drama Desk Award for Outstanding Lighting Design for a Musical for The Color Purple. Riccardo Hernandez was nominated for a Drama Desk Award for Outstanding Set Design for a Play for Red Speedo at New York Theatre Workshop. Anita Yavich was nominated for a Drama Desk Award for Outstanding Costume Design for a Play for The Legend of Georgia McBride. John Doyle was nominated for both a Drama Desk Award for Outstanding Director of a Musical and a Tony Award for Best Direction of a Musical for The Color Purple. Anne Washburn received the Herb Alpert Award in the Arts.

Thumbnail for Anne Washburn Receives Herb Alpert Award in the Arts

Playwright and Lecturer in Theater Anne Washburn has received a 2016 Herb Alpert Award in the Arts for her risk-taking work in theatre. Administered by the California Institute of the Arts, the Herb Alpert Award is a prize of $75,000 given annually to five mid-career artists working in the fields of dance, film/video, music, theatre and the visual arts.

Thumbnail for David Reinfurt Receives Rome Prize

Graphic Designer and Lecturer in Visual Arts David Reinfurt has been awarded a 2016-2017 Rome Prize in Design. Each year, the Rome Prize is awarded to about thirty emerging artists and scholars who represent the highest standard of excellence and who are in the early or middle stages of their working lives.

Load More...