Wednesday, October 11, 2017
4:30 p.m.
Berlind Theatre, McCarter Theatre Center
FREE and open to the public

Award-winning writer Rachel Cusk and poet and Princeton alum Nathaniel Mackey ’69 read from their work on Wednesday, October 11, as part of the 2017-18 Althea Ward Clark W’21 Reading Series presented by the Program in Creative Writing.


The Berlind Theatre is located in McCarter Theatre Center at 91 University Place, Princeton.

View directions and campus maps, information on parking and public transit, and other venue information on our Venues & Directions page »


rachel cusk headshot

Photo by Siemon Scamell-Katz

RACHEL CUSK was born in Canada in 1967 and moved to the United Kingdom in 1974. She is the author of nine novels and three works of nonfiction. She has won and been shortlisted for numerous prizes: her 2014 novel, Outline, was shortlisted for the Folio Prize, the Goldsmiths Prize, the Baileys Prize, the Giller Prize and the Canadian Governor General’s Award. The New York Times named Outline as one of the top ten books of the year. Her most recent novel, Transit (2016) was shortlisted for the Goldsmiths Prize. In 2003, Rachel Cusk was named one of twenty ‘Best of Young British Novelists’ by Granta magazine. In 2015 her version of Euripides’ Medea was staged at the Almeida Theatre with Rupert Goold directing and was shortlisted for the Susan Smith Blackburn Prize.



nathaniel mackey headshot

Photo by Paul Schraub

NATHANIEL MACKEY is the author of six books of poetry, the most recent of which is Blue Fasa (2015); an ongoing prose work, From a Broken Bottle Traces of Perfume Still Emanate, whose fifth and most recent volume is Late Arcade (2017); and two books of criticism, the most recent of which is Paracritical Hinge: Essays, Talks, Notes, Interviews (2005).  He is the editor of the literary magazine Hambone, coeditor, with Art Lange, of the anthology Moment’s Notice: Jazz in Poetry and Prose (1993), and coeditor, with Michael Bough, Kent Johnson and others, of the anthology Resist Much / Obey Little: Inaugural Poems to the Resistance (2017).  His awards and honors include the National Book Award for poetry (2006), the Stephen Henderson Award from the African American Literature and Culture Society (2008), a Guggenheim Fellowship (2010), the Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize from the Poetry Foundation (2014), the Bollingen Prize for American Poetry from the Beinecke Library at Yale University (2015), the William B. Hart Residency in Poetry at the American Academy in Rome (2016), and the Rebekah Johnson Bobbitt National Poetry Prize from the Library of Congress (2017).  He is the Reynolds Price Professor of Creative Writing at Duke University.


View or download event materials: Poster | Program | Press release

Presented By

  • Program in Creative Writing