May 24, 2022

Lewis Center for the Arts Celebrates the Class of 2022 at Class Day

In the first in-person ceremony since 2019, the Lewis Center for the Arts recognized graduates who earned certificates and degrees through the Programs in Creative Writing, Dance, Theater, Music Theater, and Visual Arts at the annual Class Day ceremony held on May 23 in the Matthews Theatre at McCarter Theatre Center. With introductory remarks by Lewis Center Interim Chair Michael Cadden, the ceremony reflected on a momentous year when students fully returned to studios, stages, galleries, writing spaces, and design labs to develop and showcase their artistry in-person.

It’s good to be “live” again, as we remember all the losses – personal, social, curricular, extracurricular – that have marked these two-plus years. Your teachers on the faculty and staff offer you awesome people their heartiest congratulations. You have done so much to earn our respect and admiration already. We can’t wait to see what you’ll do next!
— Michael Cadden

Each year the Lewis Center awards three top academic prizes that recognize a number of students for overall achievement in the arts. This year, Cadden announced these honors for seven seniors who demonstrated excellence and proficiency in their fields, enlarged the scope of our understanding of issues of race, and embodied a commitment to push boundaries and explore unknown territory. Silma Sierra Berrada, Molly Rose Gibbons, and Anson Hyde Jones received the Louis Sudler Prize in the Arts; Jamie Alisha Goodwin and Raya Marie Ward were honored with the Toni Morrison Prize; and Olivia Alexandra Kusio and rising senior Megan Pan received the Action Based Community Engagement Award.

Program directors Jhumpa Lahiri (Creative Writing), Susan Marshall (Dance), Stacy Wolf (Theater, Music Theater) and Jeff Whetstone (Visual Arts) also shared remarks and announced a number of awards given to seniors for outstanding achievement in each program.

Photo Gallery

View the 2022 Class Day Program listing all graduates and senior awards »

View all student prizes awarded to undergraduates »

Press Contact

Steve Runk
Director of Communications