High School Contests

Ten-Minute Play Contest

Eligibility for this annual playwriting contest is limited to students in the eleventh grade in the U.S. (or international equivalent of the eleventh grade). Each year the jury consists of members of the Princeton University Program in Theater faculty.

Applicants may submit only one play – 10 pages maximum/1 page equals 1 minute. Please note that we cannot provide critical feedback on submissions. Due to the volume of entries, only the winners will be notified.


Submissions are closed for the 2020-21 contest.

This year’s judge is acclaimed playwright Jiehae Park (2016-17 Princeton Hodder Fellow), made possible with funding from the Charles John Morris Gwinn and Alfred Hodder Memorial Fund. Contest results will be posted on this page on June 7, 2021.

To receive email updates about submission deadlines for the contest each year, please subscribe to our list.

Prizes: First Prize – $500, Second Prize – $250, Third Prize – $100

Congratulations to the 2020 Winners:

1st place:  Wafflehouse by Frances McKittrick
2nd place:  Train to Anywhere by Serena Suson
3rd placeDead Serious by Adam Soukup

Honorable Mentions:
Snake Story by Maia Siegel
The Cherry by Jordan Ferdman

Click the titles above to read their prize-winning plays.


Application Form

Contest submissions are now closed.

Past Winners


1st place:Viewer Discretion Advised by Alethea Shirilan-Howlett
2nd place:The Artist by Isabella Cho
3rd place:  The Carol Variations by Eka Savojol

Honorable Mentions:
Explanations by Emily Gil
Peanut by Gemma Hong
Just Ordinary by Erin Spake


1st place: Bus Ride by Katherine Rooks
2nd place: Of Sound Mind and Body by Kate Fitzgerald
3rd place: God Makes a Hiring Decision by Shereen Lee

Honorable Mentions:
Platinum by Cayleigh Pine
Derailed by Jared Goudsmit*
Untitled (Guinea Pig Play) by Patrick Kirwin


* Originally produced in The Blank Theatre Young Playwrights Festival, Los Angeles, CA


1st place: Three Months by Jordan Oakley
2nd place: Sea Turtles by Jalexis James
3rd place: Ledgeside by Benjamin Connor 

Honorable Mentions:
Alone with Me By Your Side by Emily Trend
Drowning by Mia Nelson


1st place: Odalisque by Jaelynn Walls
2nd place: Supermarket of Lost by Cassandra (Jing Thong) Hsiao* 

3rd place: Discount Shelf by Cavan Bonner

Honorable Mention:
Beatrix by Molly Littman
Thanksgiving Surprise by Betsy Zaubler

* Originally produced in The Blank Theatre Young Playwrights Festival, Los Angeles, CA


1st place: An Unaware Bird by Kanishk Pandey, Davis CA
2nd place: For an Ocean by Emily Zhang, Rockville MD
3rd place: The Boy Who Cried “Potato” and “Sally” by Alinah Vision, New York NY
Honorable Mention: Reflections by Emma Taussig, Minneapolis MN


1st Place: Packing by Catherine Valdez
2nd Place: Wide Eyed and Barely Six Years Old by Arya Sundaram
3rd Place: Liquid Gold by Eden Gordon
Honorable mention: Mother Dear by Kailey McLaughlin


First place: Stalling by Anne Merrill
Second place: This Is Not A Play by Alexa Derman
Third place: Three Thousand Terajoules by Lauren Byrne
Honorable Mention: Mother’s Orange Sorbet by Amelia Jane Nierenberg


First Place: Thirst by Kathleen Cole
Second Place: Cupcakes by Isaac Dwyer
Third Place: Hooked by Bianca Hunter
Honorable Mention: This is How the Moslems Feel by Nathan Engel